Overegging Easter

He he…. I don’t know what happens to me at Easter.. I turn into lunatic woman, frenzy buying all varieties of chocolate at every opportunity.  Damn Tesco Metro for opening next to my office.

I am not like this at Christmas – I am cool, calm and collected, lists, measured spending, plans, charts.. (the OCD gets a special outing during the Festive Season).

But Easter, well, I just can’t help myself.  I have Grand Plans of Easter Egg Hunts , buying eggs in a range of sizes, to suit all possibilities, friends, neighbours, family…..

IMG-20150402-01308

I  purchase mass amounts of Cadbury’s Buttons Eggs, because they are £1.  That is £1… I mean, it would be rude not to.

Then of course I am forced to admit that I am rather partial to the odd Easter Egg, they taste so wonderfully different.  There goes a few more Buttons eggs in the trolley.

As for the Mini Eggs, well, they are a staple in our house at the best of times, and then at Easter they bring out a giant plastic egg full of the little beauties….. I am beyond excited.

Add to that, 3 packets of Hot Cross Buns which will be out of date before anyone has any room left in their tummies to eat them, an Easter Cake of some sort because it has got chicks and bunnies on and I can’t resist, and a box of Ferrero Rocher because, well, just because – and I am at risk of turning our entire house diabetic.

Then I go to Home & Bargain and come home with baskets and ears to add to the ones I bought last year (and the year before) and some fabric bunting that would be half the price at any other time of year.

IMG-20150402-01315

What a whopping great waste of money!!  I could hide the eggs in the bushes by the front door and the kids would have just as much fun.

Then of course, I have major guilt about the whole thing and dig out some books.  Because lurking at the back of my mind is that Easter is not all about the chocolate……..

IMG-20150402-01309

Enjoy! x

Leave a Reply

